The Junior Naturalists program series offers environmental education through games, art, and outdoor experiences for kids going into grades K-6. 10:00 – noon.  There is a cost of $6 for members and $8 for non-members per program.

Please pre-register on our online registration system.

Program scholarships are available for some Junior Naturalists participants. For more information, contact Deb at 715-798-3890.

 

2018 Summer Programs

Tuesday, June 19: Wisconsin Mammals

Deer, porcupines, and weasels, oh my! Discover what it’s like to be one of Wisconsin’s furry critters.

(4th of July Parade Float Prep: Noon-1:00 p.m. Bring a lunch.)

 

Wednesday, June 20: Water Water Everywhere

Dew drops, calm ponds, and rushing rivers: water is everywhere! We’ll explore everywhere water flows.

(4th of July Parade Float Prep: Noon-1:00 p.m. Bring a lunch.)

 

Tuesday, June 26: Slither, Hiss, and Hop

Be a herpetologist for the day and explore creatures that breathe through their skin and swallow their food whole!

(4th of July Parade Float Prep: Noon-1:00 p.m. Bring a lunch.)

 

Wednesday, June 27: Flower Frenzy  

Appreciate the function of flowers and their pollinators. 

(4th of July Parade Float Prep: Noon-1:00 p.m. Bring a lunch.)

 

Tuesday, July 3: Predator and Prey

Who eats who? Both predators and prey keep the ecosystem in balance.

(4th of July Parade Float Prep: Noon-1:00 p.m. Bring a lunch.)

 

Wednesday, July 4

Everyone can come see the Junior Naturalists’ Float in the 4th of July Parade at 11:00 a.m.!

 

Tuesday, July 10:  Buzz About Bees

Hear that buzz? It’s our bee friends! Find out how native bees raise their babies and search for fuzzy bumblebees!

 

Wednesday, July 11: Tree-rific!

Discover why trees and forests are terrific!

 

Tuesday, July 17: Feathered Friends 

Grab your binoculars and go on a birding adventure!

 

Wednesday, July 18: Nocturnal Nature   

Who’s awake? Me too! Meet live bats with the US Forest Service. Adults are welcome, too!

 

Tuesday, July 24: Lake Layers

Imagine diving deep below the surface to see what critters are making a splash in our lakes!

 

Wednesday, July 25: Naturally Beautiful

Use your artistic eye to capture beauty in nature.

 

Tuesday, July 31:  River Rats 

Join the Wisconsin DNR’s fish crew to discover who lives in the Namakagon River. Bring water shoes and dress for getting wet. Adults are welcome, too!

 

Wednesday, August 1: Naturalists at the Farm 

Get dirty and dig into our food sources!

Meet at the Cable Community Farm:

13765 Perry Lake Road, just one mile north of Cable

 

Tuesday, August 7: Survivor!

Test your outdoor skills! Will you survive in the North Woods?

 

Wednesday, August 8: Scatology

Study the science of what animals leave behind. Learn how to identify scat and discover what these clues can tell us!

 

The Museum asks that everyone who participates in a Museum sponsored event sign a Participation Agreement and a Waiver Agreement. These agreements can be signed digitally when registering online.